top of page
  • Missionary Jill

Breaking free from my food addiction

I am ready to go home to Kilimanjaro, but I do not want to miss out all that God has for me in this season. Building relationships and new partnerships has been so encouraging. I am just so blessed to know so many of you and share this journey of life together.

Honestly, we had fallen really under budget for some years now and so we are adding to our partner team and getting to where it will be easier to work in Tanzania. This is exciting for us as well as reducing a massive amount of stress. Being away from Tanzania and taking a minute to recap our lives and how we are doing has been really good.

I am learning a lot about myself in this season. Some things are incredible humbling, and some are encouraging. Since my Mom has passed away, it hits me in waves. To share openly with you, my health has been in dire need of some attention for some time and the Lord has really been dealing with me about it. I will be sharing more and more about this as I go forward and as I overcome a food addiction. I have struggled with my weight for most of my adult life (in case you weren’t aware of that. Wink wink).

I need to be content in all seasons and trust in God when fear seems to overcome me. This is interesting to me and since losing my Mom I have struggled with a lot of unknowns that I didn’t even realize were on my mind. I am excited that God has really helped me to see this and excited to make changes in my life. On the flip side, it is hard. Really hard but with God, I will make it. Thanks for loving me through the years even in my weaknesses.

Crazy to think that when we meet someone that struggles with addition of drugs, alcohol abuse or smoking. It seems easy to our minds that they should just quit. Some people go as far as to say that people who do those things are not Christians and are not going to heaven. I find that interesting that some of the very people who speak that are themselves the same size as me which unless you have medical issues, it means you are addicted as well.

I am 100 percent sure if I died today, that I would go to heaven. If God lets food addicted people into heaven, pretty sure other addicts will be getting in. Just saying!

This love thing that Jesus talks about is a type of love that our brains can’t fathom. Our walk with God is not what we can do in our own strength but leaning on Him and allowing him to heal our hearts, learn healthy ways in all areas and be free. Our society tells us that being overweight is “ok” and we should be “ok” with ourselves and this is just how some people are made and I remember a doctor telling me that I was genetically set up for this. I wanted to shout at him, that I am pretty sure that the three helpings of mash potatoes are more likely the cause, but anyway his answer is way more comforting. Ha ha ha.

The truth is that food addiction is sin. I am just in the beginning of the journey to a new healthy life. Excited to see what God will use this for, a lot of shame connected to this journey I have been on, but already it has started to just fall away. I am not bound by my circumstances. May we see God glorified through this all. God seems to be so gracious to reveal His strength when we are completely weak and have given up in areas of our life. In completely surrender, I look forward to what He has.

Thank you for every single person who has loved me like Christ loves. You are the body of Christ. The best is yet to come! May I always aim to love others like Christ loves and be the light that brings healing, hope and restoration.

Thank you for letting me share that with you.

Follow my journey at www.missonaryJill.com

This is the year where I win the fight!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page